Five Years Down

Five years ago today, Patrick and I got married, It was around 11ish, and extremely too hot to be outside making seemingly life altering decisions. Thirty chairs had been rented, but roughly 20 people showed up to watch us make this commitment, Gary Virgin had overslept (never forget). One set of Frisbee golfers were the only other people in this public park. I don’t know what everyone who showed up was thinking at the time, but they easily could have thought that we didn’t know each other long enough or that there was no way we would last. I definitely would not blame them if they had those thoughts, the actual odds and percentages are against marriage and commitment in general. Not to get mushy gushy but that day was a extremely great day in my life, in fact, it was the best day. Upon reminiscing today I realized that 19 year old me, didn’t know what was actually needed to have a successful marriage, all I knew was I loved a man named Patrick and wanted to do whatever it took to spend as much time as possible with him. Basically, I just really didn’t know what that meant, love, I knew how I felt and I wanted to act. Of course I knew 1Corinthians 13:4-7 Love is patient and kind. Love is not jealous or boastful or proud or rude. It does not demand its own way. It is not irritable, and it keeps no record of being wronged. It does not rejoice about injustice but rejoices whenever the truth wins out. Love never gives up, never loses faith, is always hopeful, and endures through every circumstance.,but never really experienced all of the very real aspects of love, have to truly act out of love fully and continually. Now after five years I definitely say I have, Patrick has had to show me that love while seeing me at both my best and worst, while I have had to act in that love toward him. So no I don’t know now all of the secrets to making a marriage last, but I do know now that no matter what anyone says, if you and your partner truly love each other and put in the effort, in a full biblically defined way than you will have a really good shot at making your marriage/ relationship last. Or to put it in Bright Eyes lyrics “I would rather be working for a paycheck than waiting to win the lottery.” There is no formula, It requires effort, but I will be worth it everyday that you act in love. Happy Five Years Patrick!

Join the conversation

