Bigger… Better… Vagrant Brigade

vblog
Well, I have been working on Vagrant Brigade for a couple months now and I have a few things to say about it. Right now I am about half way done with page fifteen. From what I currently have planned for the story (subject to change) it will probably be a twenty page story. That’s not too bad considering most comics are about twelve pages long including all the ads and what not. With that said I am coming close to the end. I have been averaging one to two pages a week. If I keep up that pace this story will come to a close by the end of this month. I honestly have to say that I am looking forward to finishing. Not because I am board with the project, but because I have learned so much from the experience. I am already itching to move on to bigger and better things. I have been spitting out this comic book with what seems to be effortless abandon. Although this may seem to be the case I have spent countless hours on this project. Even so, I have been just cranking it out. One thing that I have learned from this is how to achieve what I want much faster. Now that I have that skill it is time to slow down and work on something grand. Something with elegant detail. I am no master of the arts, but I know that if I were to slow down and focus more on the art rather than the pace the product of my labor would be much greater. I am ready for this.

However, I feel that I need to finish this project before I move on. And before you say, “well… why don’t you slow down on this project?” I already have the answer. I want to keep it unified page after page. It would be silly to have fifteen pages all look the same and then all of a sudden the entire style, look, and feel changes for the last five pages.

So, what’s next?
I don’t have a comic idea picked out. I will probably spend time just doing single strip web comics to develop my style once this Vagrant Brigade journey is over. Once I feel like I have what I am looking for I will think about doing something bigger and better.

Join the conversation