Shame on you for making proxies

I have been playing Magic the Gathering for a few years now. The format that I have come to enjoy and invest my time and money in is known as EDH (Commander). This is one of the only formats that is not really a tournament based format. So, I am not putting up money and going against other players for a grand prize. Because of this fact anyone who plays this format generally falls into one of three categories that I have noticed. The high roller. The Budget builder. The proxy whore. All of us who play EDH know these players.

The High Roller

This player spends countless dollars building nearly unbeatable decks with extremely rare cards that depreciate in value each time they are played. A lot of these high roller cards can cost as much as $800 for just one card. With that said, you can imagine the price range that a deck of 100 can reach. I have seen some of these high roller deck reach nearly $5,000. That is just insane. This player is at risk of theft, drink spillage, and card bending abuse from other players that want to handle their property.

The Budget Builder

This player in EDH is the most common among players. They set a realistic goal of let’s just assume “$200 or less” and set out to make the most competitive deck they can with what they can afford. They are happy with their choices and generally give any player a run for the win because they can truly play. No combos for the win here. Just good old attrition at its best. These players tend to roll their eyes and mock both the High Roller and the Proxy Whore. They clearly are the better player… at least in their own minds.

The Proxy Whore

These players are never satisfied. They become board quickly. Making fake cards of anything imaginable makes them an even bigger threat than the High Roller, because they can make any deck, but for almost nothing. A few sheets of paper and a printer and just like that they are High Rollers and beyond. The problem with this player is that they have too many choices. Their deck lists are endless and they find themselves stuck in a constant state of building and polishing. A lot of these players are frowned upon depending on the playgroup you find yourself in.

So here is the question-the reason for this blog post. Who have I been and who have I become since moving and becoming a part in a new playgroup? In my old playgroup proxies were evil. In my new one they are annoying at times, but honestly no one really cares. We all love the game and enjoy each other’s company regardless of which category we fall into. Before moving to my new playgroup I was considered a High Roller with none of my deck being built under $600, most of which were much higher than that. Even so, I had a few proxies mixed in the batch. A recent miss hap caused me to peal one of my proxies apart revealing how it was made. And I said to myself… “I can do that”. So I did. Since then I have made a few deck that are all 100% proxied. A $2,000 deck for pennies on the dollar. So, this got me thinking… since this is just a kitchen table type of format that I play… why spend so much money? It’s just me and my friends playing for fun. I haven’t done it yet, but I am honesty thinking about selling all of my High Roller cards and just making fakes. If I did that I could come up with enough money to build a little home recording studio. I could get back into music again and still technically own all of the same deck-just not real so to speak.

So, why am I posting this? Because… although I am not against proxies I am against people pretending their fake cards are real. I have dealt with mistaken identity in Magic the Gathering and no one wins. So, if you proxy, be open about it. Be honest… and play fare.

Join the conversation

