Goodbye SSRIs, Hello Essential Oils

So, as many people know or don’t, I began my journey with Young Living Essential Oils with one goal in mind. Freedom from Prescriptions, specifically the nasty little SSRIs I have had to take for the past 13 years. I have had all different flavors, Zoloft, Paxil (ekk), Du something something, one that started with a B, throw a Xanax in ever so often and the most recent Cymbalta. There are a load of different side effects for each one, but it was very much a necessary evil in my life. See I don’t have what is considered occasional anxiety, I have the everyday Manic Depressive sorta cuckoo variety. Well, I have never really cared the feeling of being a robot and always have been concerned about the long term effects of giving myself daily chemicals. So my switch to essential oils began. Now here I am going to tell you that you should not get off any prescription without consulting a doctor and YL does not advertise/recommend/take any responsibility for you replacing medication using their essential oils. NOW. I did not consult my doctor, but I also know my own body and I waited for a weekend because I envisioned there would be some sort of detox when making the switch. There was, the worst was day two, I was very loopy and extremely emotional. Thankfully I was at home, and with a person who loves me.  Since then I have worked out a few kinks, so to speak in the oils I use. I apply all my oils in the morning when I wake up and I added an oil that I use when I get off work . I both scenarios I wait about 20 minutes for the to take effect, you can feel the difference.  Because I have had many requests to list what I use for my anxiety/depression I made a hand chart.

Oil Application

The as needed oils are ones that I keep on hand for when I am having a particularly stressful day and/or need to relax. I use Peace and Calming when I am having a hard time sleeping and Stress Away anytime(I keep it in my purse). Everyone’s body is different and you know what your body needs the best. I am happy that I made the switch and am confident with my decision.

Everyday is a new day and some days you just need to be a little oilier than others!

Now, I use other oils for my day to day life, headaches, sinus issues, cleaning, that’s why I love having my starter kit(and the 24% off) But I wanted this blog to solely focus on why I got into sharing and using YL Essential oils.

Please message, comment or contact me if you have any other questions! I have no problems talking about my depression or experience.

Modern Root-Sarah Douglas-#3190313 Order your Oils!

5 thoughts on “Goodbye SSRIs, Hello Essential Oils

  1. Grounding- White Fir, Spruce, Ylang Ylang, Pine, Cedarwood, Angelica, Juniper
    White Angelica- (coconut oil), Myrrh, Bergamot, Sandalwood, Geranium, Ylang Ylang, Spruce, Rosewood, Coriander, Hyssop, Melissa, Rose, Angelica

    Those are my two favorite blends, my third being Valor!

    Like

  2. How did you determine which combination of oils worked best? Not all of those are even recommended for depression, I wouldn’t have thought to use them.

    Like

    1. That is an excellent question. Word of mouth basically. I had a family friend who had been taking SSRIs and made the switch. She told me what she used, (All the AM oils except Fran.) Fast forward two years later and I decided to try them for myself. I added frankincense, because I was continually having a lot of mucus due to detoxing(mucus). The Peace and Calming and Stress away were recommended to me for sleep/occasional anxiety. The Release I added to my routine because I noticed a significant agitation when making the transition from School(Work) to home. So basically I knew someone who made the transition and used what they did as a base, and if you individually read what each of them do it kind of makes sense why it works for anxiety and depression, but I know what your saying about them not being listed/suggested for depression.

      I would definitely tell anyone that I still have days here and there that I reapply certain oils because I am having a ‘bad day’, but I never imagined that I would be able to regulate my emotions with anything besides a pharmaceutical.

      Like

      1. I made my way off of pharmaceuticals and onto supplements/oils a couple years ago but I’ve hit another major episode that I just can’t quite kick. Several people have suggested that maybe it’s chemical and I should consider meds again, but maybe I should try this first.

        Like

      2. What are the individual oils in grounding and white Angelica? I don’t have either of those. (I switched away from young living to plant therapy and mountain rose herbs for several reasons … it’s a long story)

        Like

Join the conversation

