The things you do for love

tofu

Today I am experimenting with Tofu in the kitchen. It’s an adventure to say the least. So, I am sure you are wondering… “is Pat a vegan or vegetarian?” and “why else would he be cooking tofu?”. The answer is no, currently I am not either of those things. I eat meat. So, then why am I messing with it? The answer is for love. There was a time in my life when I was a vegetarian. And I even committed to a solid year as a vegan. But the crazy thing about those experiences is that I never once tried to cook tofu despite having eaten and loved it at restaurants. Sarah is still a vegetarian and although I still eat meat, when we cook at home we cook vegetarian meals because it is easier for us that way. In the past we have tried cooking with tofu but it never really works out the way you want it to.

Why is it that when I eat this stuff at a restaurant its nice and firm and golden brown… and when I cook it, the stuff just falls apart and turns into scrambled glop?

It is time to rectify that problem.

With that, I have made it my goal this month to figure that crap out. I have immersed myself in how to videos. But that’s not going to be enough. I have to put those videos to use and practice. Find out what works for me. So far I have come to some solid conclusions about process that are very important. And although I have not yet mastered it to the level I am trying to reach, I am on my way. And by the time I get if figured out we are going to be swimming in golden triangle tofu dippers!

Join the conversation

