Anti-Social Media

t

Okay, it is time to get back to simplicity. I have decided to step away from most forms of social media. This means Facebook, Twitter, and any other site like it. I am just at a point in my life where I have better things to do with my time than a constant upward thumb sliding motion on the screen of my phone. Don’t get me wrong, I am not some Nazi that thinks social media is the devil. I have seen its practical application to today’s world. Heck, the 5+ years I spend on tour was truly thanks to sites like Myspace, and Facebook. Without them I wouldn’t have been able to do most of my tour date bookings. The same is true for promotions. These sites helped me launch my career as an author by boosting sales and awareness. Social media is networking at its peak. So then… why have I decided to step away?

For a few simple reasons:

  1. I am tired of burning up time that could be spent doing productive things. Dead people school is kicking into high gear early January and I don’t need comical videos and meme’s distracting me. What down time I have could also be put to better use (writing music, writing books, hanging out with friends face to face).
  2. As the 2016 election draws closer and the world issues begin to mount, I have to be honest in saying I am tired of your opinion. You don’t have all the answers and the meme you shared doesn’t make you politically relevant. If you want to make a political difference, but down your video blog and get in the trenches.
  3. To me, tangible relationships are more important. If you want to hang out, then call or email me. Let’s actually do lunch, set our phones down and give one another undivided attention.

Now, one of the first things I said was I was giving up “most” forms of social media. What does this mean? Although I am getting off of the main sites like Facebook and Twitter, I plan to leave them live so that people will know where to reach me at. I will also still keep my blog going for anyone that is still interested in what’s happening in my world. My blog is already connected to my Twitter account, so it will still be posting things, but I am done glaring at my phone to see what everyone is up to.

My goal is to commit to this for the entire year of 2016. I have two reasons for this. One, that is about how much school I have left, and two… I want to see after the year is up if I still feel the same way. If I do I will permanently delete my social accounts.

To those of you who still want to keep in touch, get my email address and shoot me a message. I will give you my number from there.

Join the conversation

