Movies, monsters, video games, and reading…

So, I finally got around to watching the horror film Dark was the Night. The reason why it took me so long was that it in all honesty looked stupid.

dark1

There really isn’t any other way to put it. The movie just looked like blockbuster straight to DVD cheese. But, I eventually gave in and watched it. Mostly because I liked Kevin Durand despite the fact that he plays the same character in every movie. Some actors are just like that. It also helped to keep me interested knowing that Lukas Haas was one of the lead roles. He is a pretty good actor. Against what I expected going in, this was a decent film. It had a generic plot and some twists that were too ironic to be true, but it kept me watching. I think the thing that made me decide to give this film a thumbs up was the ending. I am not going to mention it here for those who haven’t seen it, but the ending was strong leaving a positive impression on the overall film. I will say this though, the creature in the movie at first looked like a snapping turtle, but once I got a good look it reminded me of the Hunters from Resident Evil… only slightly larger.

dark2

While I am on this kick, I might as well mention I love to read. But that wasn’t always the case. I used to never read, because I am a slow reader. But, my passion for the Resident Evil video game series drew me to a list of books by S. D. Perry based on the games. I read every single one when I was a teen. And from then on I was hooked. Who ever said all games are bad? This bloody morbid game turned me into a reader!

2 thoughts on “Movies, monsters, video games, and reading…

  1. Resident Evil was great. I still remember traveling to the mall to play their demo, until we were finally able to buy the game. It was the game that made us realize we needed a memory card, too. Do you remember that?! Fun times!

    Liked by 1 person

Join the conversation

