Art of the Day: Camp Chaos

campchaos

I have seen a lot of artists do a pattern based effect with their characters so I decided to emulate that as a practice exercise here. I didn’t really know what I was going to do, but when the kid in the suit appeared it just screamed camping trip boy scouts. So, the logs and stuff kind of came together on its own. I like how it turned out, but I feel like I am still not really capturing the simplicity I am trying to achieve. Either way, it still looks pretty cool.

Sarah asked me the other day what the point is of this practice I have been doing. She asked if I was planning another comic book. And the answer is no, not at this time. And the practice is for no reason other than enjoyment. I enjoy the challenge. I enjoy seeing my art improve. Creativity is accepting the process of growth. On the other hand, if you are interested in the comic book I released last year, you can see it here.

Join the conversation

