The Proxy Maker

I have had a few people in my EDH play group mention that my proxies are pretty impressive. One even suggested I do a YouTube tutorial on how I go about making them. A video seemed like too much work, so I am posting this instead. Before I get started I want to say a few things. First off, consult your play group before making proxies for your deck. Some play groups do not condone this while others embrace it a little too much. Secondly, I am a believer that making proxies is okay for play testing and for making multiples of expensive cards that you already have proof you own.

For example: I have two Mana Crypt cards, but play the card in all 6 of my decks. That means that 4 of them are proxied because I don’t feel like switching them every time I switch decks. I am okay with this because I have proof that I do own the card. Some people may disagree with this. Again, consult your play group first. So, here we go… a step by step on how I make these things look so good.

proxy-maker.png

Step 1:

First thing I did was figure out the exact measurement of the cards at a 300dpi ratio for photoshop. I then added an additional 10dpi of boarder space. This comes out to 770 x 1070 pixels on the outer edge and 682 x 978 pixels for the inner most area of the black boarder of the card. Don’t ask me how I came to that number. It took a little math and what matters is that it worked. So, step one is sizing the cards and then printing 9 to a page on sticker paper. I do this at a local Office Depot rather than at home. One, they have the sticker paper, and two it costs less and looks better to use their ink.

Step 2:

Cut the cards out. When cutting the white part of the card I cut all of the edges except for the bottom one. The extra 10 pixels per side that I mentioned in step 1 is crucial for step 2. When I cut the edges of the card I do it precise, cutting as close to the edge of the black boarder as I can. The extra 10 pixels per side insures that I don’t cut the card too small.

Step 3:

Peel the sticker backing off and place the sticker face down on the table.

Step 4:

Line up your basic land or common card with the top margin of the sticker. The left and right sides will be almost exactly matching to the size of the card. Line them up too and then place the card and sticker together from the top backwards.

Step 5:

Use a box cutter to cut the bottom of the sticker that is still hanging off. If the paper tares in the process, your box cutter is dull.  And then use the scissors to cut and round the edges of the sticker paper. Be sure to not cut the card in the process.

Step 6:

If any of the edges are white of have slight torn ridges, use a black magic marker to conceal the imperfections in your cutting accuracy.

Step 7:

Enjoy and impress.

NOTE: I do not condone the making of proxies for profit. These are not tournament legal and easily distinguishable from real cards when not in a sleeve. I only proxy to play-test or to have multiples of existing cards in my collection.

Join the conversation

