Magic the Gathering – EDH Complete

Okay, so I have 6 EDH decks… all of which have been given a lot of attention when it comes to build and functionality. Over the course of the last couple of weeks I have spent a lot of time pimping out the details of how these decks function on a website called Tapped Out. I decided to do this for a few reasons. One, because I am addicted to the game and just love playing with it. And second, to help remind me what each deck is capable of doing. It can be hard to remember all the synergies or combos in a deck especially if you go a little while without playing it. So, here they are. I am posting them in order from my personal favorite to least played.

Doran, the Siege Tower

treespng

This is my favorite one to play and it has gotten the most attention when it comes to tweaks and changes. I love this deck because it is super consistent. When you have 100 cards to sift through it can be hard to make a deck do the same thing every game. Well, this deck does just that. I am almost always swinging my general with at least one sword early game. This is also my favorite deck because it is currently my only tribal deck. I don’t know why, but there is just something fun about keeping a tribal theme with your build. Not only does the deck have purpose, but it has style too.

Lord of Tresserhorn

lordtress

This is my most recent build, and with the constructive criticism of my friend Matt at my current play group this deck is my second favorite to play. The thing that makes this deck great is that it is my only1v1 deck. I call it my one hit wonder deck because one hit is all it takes to win most of the time. Cast my General and swing. Chances are you will get hit. And if you do, one hit is all it should take to win. It has won several multi-player games, but in a 1v1 setting this deck is extremely hard to keep up with. In other words, when it happens… it happens fast.

Sliver Queen

moats

My one and only five color deck. This deck is where all of my money went, because in EDH if you want to do five it costs you. This deck also cost a lot because it is a Super Friends deck. Them Plansewalkers ain’t cheap, dude. This deck is my third favorite I think because it is a totally different style of game play for me. All of my decks are creature based and aside from my General this build only has one creature in it. I think if I were to build and maintain a 7th deck, I would do another creatureless creation just to help keep things mixed and fresh. The problem with this deck is that I can’t just do what I want. This build usually merits being the target of everyone at the table.

Radha, Heir to Keld

booms.png

This is the second deck I ever made. And I owe its power and brutality to the comic book store owner at my old play group. I ask him to help build the deck and I told him my only stipulation was the win condition. I wanted to the win condition to be Primal Serge, which lets me win instantly if the deck is build to accommodate that card. I made a few minor changes based on the suggestions that were given. The result is a rampant big banger deck that will wreck face. I have had a multi-player game scoop on turn three because I had big bangers out that early. This deck does not disappoint.

Vish Kal, Blood Arbiter

sac

This is my very first deck I ever put together. I am proud of this thing because I put this puppy together all on my own. It is combo city. Just tutor for a few cards and win. You really have to know your way around this build in order for it to work for you. I don’t get to play this deck that often because most people get annoyed by this build. What can I say… it’s pretty janky.

Aurelia, the Warleader

redwite

This deck is fun to play, so I do manage to play it quite a bit. But despite that fact it is actually my least favorite deck. I don’t really know what that is. Maybe it is because the deck doesn’t have a theme like my others do. Treefolk, Super Friends, One Hit Win, Primal Serge Ramp… and combos. All of them seem to have a theme. This Warleader deck though, just doesn’t have that. It is just a powerful General with solid cards in the color wheel. The deck is powerful in its own right, but it just doesn’t do for me what all those other decks do.

 

One thought on “Magic the Gathering – EDH Complete

Join the conversation

