Embalming Clinical is finally over #embalming #mortuary #mortician #morgue

joeface.png

Well, dead people school clinical is finally behind me. It came and went so much faster than I thought it would. During the week clinical was a 5 day crash course on both embalming and restorative arts. I got to make a face from scratch. And my dad, Joe, happened to be my muse for the project. My mom says my sculpture looks sexier. I can see that. As for the embalming portion, which no one wants to see photos of, and that I wasn’t allowed to take photos of for obvious reasons went really well despite my mild anxiety going into it. Going into it I was worried that I wouldn’t meet the clinical requirements, which, by the end of the week I easily did. Also, I was going to be working with dead people. So, there’s that. Creepy! I went into it though with some experience, so it wasn’t nearly as bad as I had expected. Your imagination always does that to you, doesn’t it? Make things out to be a bigger deal than they really are.

Anyway, on the first day we had to crack a skull open and one student clammed up tight and didn’t come back. I guess this stuff isn’t for everyone. I loved it. My classmates were genuine people and I feel like I managed to even make a few friends. With that, I only have one semester left before I go on to fight to good old fight against the Board Exams for my license. In the meanwhile… maybe I will get lucky and lock a part time job in this field.

Here is to hoping.

Join the conversation

