Neighbors to the rescue! #Godisgood

Well, yesterday was a very eventful, yet surprisingly cool day. On my way to work my truck decided to not turn over/crank after filling my gas tank. I inevitably had to call in to work and tell them I wasn’t coming in. But before I could do that, I had to walk all the way back up the hill to my house to figure out what number to call in order to actually call in an absence at work.

Once that was done it was time to figure out what the game plan was.

car-trouble.pngI needed to start making some calls to figure out who was going to tow my truck from the gas station to an auto repair shop. But which repair shop? This could make any aggravated person’s head start spinning for sure. But I didn’t let it get to me. Instead, I walk a few houses down to a neighbors house (who happens to be a mechanic), and asked his advice. He obliged to take a look and we made the trek back down the hill toward my truck. With his fancy computer he figured out it was my fuel pump and said he could fix it on the low. But then there was the question of towing up the hill. With that, I went in the other direction to another neighbor’s house who owns a towing company (his tow truck sitting in his drive), and asked for help. He also obliged and did it for free, bringing my truck back up the hill to the mechanic’s house. Other than paying for the pump and giving him a few bucks for his effort we were on our way to getting it fixed.

Rather than drop the tank, which I happened to have just filled at the gas station, we took the bed off instead. With the help of yet another neighbor, we lifted the bed and got to work. And when it came time to put the bed back on the third neighbor gladly stepped in and helped make it happen.

How cool is that? Had I gotten the truck towed to a shop, the tow and the shop fees would have been double, if not triple what it ended up costing me to get my truck back in business. On top of that we got it all done fairly quick considering all the neighbors that stepped up to help.

I am blessed.

My neighborhood has my respect and gratitude.

Join the conversation

